The Significance of the Colors Used To Make Worship Flags

This post is to serve as a guide to the biblical significance of various colors used in flag ministry as it relates to Praise and Worship.

Different color combination can also have different meanings.

  • Yellow: Faith and glory of God, anointing

  • Orange: Fire of God, deliverance, warrior, passionate praise

  • Fuchsia: Joy, right relationship, communion

  • Scarlet: Fine linen for the tabernacle, Cleansing, Royalty

  • Red: Blood of Jesus, love of Christ, blood of the lamb, atonement, redemption, salvation

  • Wine: New birth, multiply, overflow, mercy, filled with plenty, new wine

  • Purple: Royalty, kingship, majesty, mediator, wealth, authority

  • Blue/Sapphire: Law, commandments, Heaven, God revealed, grace, Priesthood , water of the Word and authority, prayer, river of God, over-comer, Living water, Holy Spirit, divine revelation

  • Turquoise/Jasper/Aqua: River of God, sanctification, healing, life-giving flow of the Holy Spirit, the New Jerusalem

  • Green: Praise, life, ┬áhealth, growth, prosperity, restoration, new beginning, fruitfulness, flourishing

  • Gold: Eternal Deity, the Godhead, foundation, sanctified, alter, beauty, precious, holiness, glory, purified out of the refining fire, tested, majesty, righteousness, divine light

  • Silver: The Word of God, redemption, refined, purity, divinity, righteousness, salvation

  • White: The Bride of Christ, Revelation, purity, Holy Spirit, blessedness, holiness, righteousness, light, joy, angels, saints, peace, completion, conquest, triumph, victory, surrender, harvest

  • Brown: End of a season, Pride/filthy rags, weary, faint, People

  • Black/Onyx: Darkness, evil, sin, affliction, humiliation, calamity, death, famine, mourning, reconciling Mediator, authority, obedience unto death

Joining Different Colors

Combing various colors will add new meaning to your worship flags.

  • Tabernacle Scarlet, Purple and Blue: These are the colors used in the tabernacle where God dwelled with the Israelites in the desert (Exodus 28:8; 36:8; 39:1)

  • Bride of Christ – Gold, Silver and White: We are purified when Jesus redeemed us to become holy as He is holy (Malachi 3:3; Deuteronomy 22:29; Ephesians 4:24)

  • Fire – Yellow, Orange and Red: As we stand in faith the glory of God is revealed no enemy can penetrate His protection or overcome His deliverance (Romans 4:20; Psalm 97:3; Joshua 2:18-21)

  • Faith – Yellow, Green and Blue: Faith in God’s ways given to us by the Holy Spirit brings life to us now and for eternity (Romans 4:20; Hebrews 10:15-16; 1 John 2:25)

  • Healing water – Blue and Aqua: Life, cleansing, healing (Psalm 1:1-3; Revelation 22:1)

  • Covenant/Promise – Rainbow colors: Promises of God (Genesis 9:13)

  • Grace – Purple and pink: We are adopted into royalty when we are birthed into God’s Kingdom. This is only done by His grace He provides everything we need. (2 Corinthians 8:9)

  • Mercy – Purple and red: Jesus is our mediator and redeemer, He clothed us in salvation and gives us a robe of righteousness (Titus 3:4-7; Isaiah 61:10)

  • Praise – Fuchsia, purple and aqua: We have joy in the wealth of the Holy Spirit (Jeremiah 33:9; Hebrews 2:10-12; 13:15)

  • Worship – Purple, blue, and wine: Longing, seeking to be in God’s presence because of who He is. (Matthew 2:2; John 9:31)

  • Majesty – Purple and blue: Dignity, priestly, power, authority, ruler, King or high official (1 Chronicles 29:24-25; 2 Chronicles 2:14; 3:14; Jeremiah 10:9; Ester 8:15; Ezekiel 27:7)

  • Repentance – Black, Red and White: All can be redeemed by Jesus through repentance, because all of us fall short of God’s glory (Romans 3:23 – 24


Article courtesy of Creations Anew